Apocalyptica release "One" feat. James Hetfield


Apocalyptica are thrilled to announce the third single from "Apocalyptica Plays Metallica, Vol. 2" – the hotly-anticipated sequel to their legendary debut record. One falls hot on the heels of first singles "The Four Horsemen" and "The Unforgiven II", and features none other than Metallica frontman James Hetfield himself, as well as Metallica bass player Robert Trujillo! 

Watch the official music video for "One": 

"Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2" will continue the journey that began in 1996 when cellists from Helsinki’s world-renowned Sibelius Academy played symphonic tribute to the biggest of the big four – heavy metal titans Metallica. For their tenth record the classically-minded dynamos are returning to their roots to bring a legendary story full circle. It also features a host of surprises, including an unprecedented collaboration.

Third single "One", taken from Metallica’s 1988 landmark "…And Justice For All" is a breathtaking reinterpretation of one of the biggest of Metallica’s greatest musical moments – a true crowning creative achievement in their staggering 40 year career. In a stunning development, the single sees Metallica frontman James Hetfield himself joining proceedings for a soul-stirring, spoken-word rendition of those inimitable, now immortal lyrics. More than a unique collaboration, this is history in the making.

“I think it’s incredible that James wanted to do it,” says Eicca Toppinen. “We were always thinking, ‘it’d be great to someday do something with Metallica!’ I think the excitement for him came from the different approach we were taking – sometimes the craziest ideas are what excites people and that was our challenge.”

"We used everything at our disposal to make it as bombastic as possible. It had to be epic! The result was truly cinematic, with James Hetfield narrating the story with those poetic lyrics. It was powerful and touching,” adds Perttu Kivilaakso. “As a fan I have to say it was unbelievable to finally hear it. I was in my home crying. My hands were shaking. It was an incredible journey.”

"Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2" was produced by longtime collaborator and studio supremo Joe Barresi (Queens of the Stone Age, Soundgarden, Nine Inch Nails, Tool) and will be released via new label Throwdown Entertainment on June 7th.

Apocalyptica will embark on a big European Tour come fall 2024. Already in June they'll play a special album release concert at Helsinki Ice Hall, as part of Metallica's visit to the city that weekend. Find all dates here:

Apocalyptica Plays Metallica Vol. 2 Tour 2024

08 Jun FI Helsinki - Ice Hall

13 Sep AE Dubai - TBA

19 Sep TR Istanbul - Zorlu PSM

21 Sep SE Stockholm - Kagelbanan

22 Sep NO Oslo - Rockefeller

23 Sep DK Copenhagen - Amager Bio

24 Sep DK Aarhus - Train

26 Sep DE Hamburg - Große Freiheit 36

27 Sep NL Tilburg - O13

29 Sep UK Manchester - Manchester Albert Hall

30 Sep UK London - Royal Albert Hall

01 Oct IE Dublin - Olympia Theatre

03 Oct UK Glasgow - SWG3

04 Oct UK Nottingham - Rock City

05 Oct UK Cardiff - Great Uni Hall

07 Oct DE Wiesbaden - Schlachthof

08 Oct DE Munich - Tonhalle

09 Oct DE Cologne - E-Werk

10 Oct AT Vienna - Gasometer

11 Oct CZ Prague - 02 Universe

12 Oct DE Dresden - Alter Schlachthof

13 Oct DE Berlin - Columbiahalle

15 Oct PL Krakow - Studio

16 Oct PL Warsaw - Progresja

18 Oct LT Palanga - Concert Hall

19 Oct LT Kaunus - Zalgiris Arena

20 Oct LT Vilnius - Compensa Hall

21 Oct LV Riga - Arena

22 Oct EE Tallinn - Alexella Hall

11 Nov LX Esch Alzette - Rockhal

12 Nov BE Brussels - AB

13 Nov FR Paris - L’Olympia

14 Nov FR Bordeaux - Le Rocher

15 Nov ES Bilbao - Santana 27

17 Nov PT Lisbon - LAV

18 Nov ES Madrid - La Riviera

19 Nov ES Barcelona - Razzmatazz

20 Nov FR Marseille - Espace Julien

21 Nov IT Milan - Alcatraz

22 Nov CH Lausanne - Metropole

23 Nov CH Zurich - Komplex

25 Nov HU Budapest - Barba Negra

26 Nov RO Cluj – Form Space

27 Nov RO Bucharest - Sala Palatului

28 Nov BG Sofia - NDK (National Palace of Culture)

29 Nov MK Skopje - Boris Trajovski Arena

30 Nov RS Belgrade - Hangar

Share on Google Plus

0 σχόλια :

Post a Comment