Julie Christmas announces new album, "Ridiculous And Full Of Blood"

 JULIE CHRISTMAS has announced details of her long-awaited second solo album, "Ridiculous and Full of Blood", set for release on June 14th via Cult of Luna’s RED CRK label. Along with the announcement, she has shared a first single and video, entitled “Supernatural” and has announced European live dates including headline shows in the Netherlands and Germany as well as festival appearances at Arctangent, Roskilde, Oya, Brutal Assault, Hellfest and more.

By the time Julie Christmas released her debut solo album "The Bad Wife" in 2010, the Brooklyn visionary was already one of the most lauded voices in alternative music. Her piercing pipes, as previously heard in noise rockers Made Out of Babies and post-metal supergroup Battle of Mice, earned critical acclaim. Then, that goodwill was consolidated by her first standalone statement and now she returns with album two.

"Ridiculous and Full of Blood", a heart-on-sleeve chapter-by-chapter storybook of the conflicting elements of her own character, is the most comprehensive declaration of this musician’s talents yet, spanning from alt-pop to post-metal with a staggering array of talent onboard. Guitarist/ vocalist Johannes Persson (Cult of Luna), drummer Chris Enriquez (Spotlights), bassist/ producer Andrew Schneider (Kenmode/Unsane), guitarist John LaMacchia (Candiria) and keyboardist extraordinaire Tom Tierney were all paramount in bringing these new, genre-smashing tunes to life.

Lead single “Supernatural” is one of the album’s many standout moments, where Christmas's unmistakable voice snaps between delicate purr and blood-curdling roar in a split second - a majestically vitriolic anthem. 

"At 20 I said that I was going to be making noise until I opened my mouth and nothing came out but a croak and a thin trickle of blood” Christmas comments. “Right now I'm stronger and LOUDER than I have ever been. This song was written to sing with people who listen and come to hear. Time doesn't make you softer, it makes you harder. It also reminds you that you wouldn't be here without the people you sing with.”

“I want people to hear the sad heroine, vile villains, dreamy characters at play, squalor, madness, longing, challenge, triumph, beauty, and love” Christmas says of Ridiculous and Full of Blood. “This story is a little different, it isn't all fairytale. It speaks to how human nature defies categorisation. The kindest person commits immeasurable acts of cruelty, the monster loves their friend. We are all like that.”

The words all communicate their core personality’s worldview, extending from thoughts as small as her fascination with birds, to opinions on grand topics like religion and warfare. Even the album’s title was penned as a tongue-in-cheek description of how Christmas views herself.

“I’m not evolved enough as a human to hide the way I feel. It’s all in there. Music is the place to put it all so you don’t explode. If you are throwing yourself into life it can and should get wild!” she explains.

Although Christmas took 14 years to make a full-length follow-up to "The Bad Wife", there’s no doubting that this successor is more than worth the wait. Its impossible-to-pigeonhole songs are destined to not only reinforce the love fans already have for this peerless creative; they’ll certainly win over countless newcomers, as well.

"Ridiculous and Full of Blood" tracklist:

1. Not Enough

2. Supernatural

3. The Ash

4. Thin Skin

5. End of the World

6. Silver Dollars

7. Kids

8. The Lighthouse

9. Blast

10. Seven Days

Share on Google Plus

0 σχόλια :

Post a Comment